ما هو المركز الإقليمي؟

المركز الإقليمي للمؤسسة التي تمت الموافقة عليها، ولها رخصة من  المواطنة والهجرة لتلقي الأموال من EB-5

EB-5 المستثمرين لتمويل المشاريع المؤهلة في إطار برنامج .

المراكز الإقليمية لا يتلقون الأموال من المستثمرين مباشرة، وانما تخدم  كمنبر  يتم عرض المشاريع بها . توضع الأموال في حساب الضمان التي أنشئت خصيصا لهذا المشروع.

العثور على المواطنة الأمريكية وخدمات الهجرة  تعريف المركز الإقليمي EB-5 اون لاين  هنا .

EB-5 استعراض عملية الاستثمار

المستثمر EB-5 تستثمر 000 500 $ لكل مشروع، وتقع في مجالات العمل المستهدفة (TEA)، أو في مبلغ 1000000 $ للمشروع، لا علاقة لها مجالات العمل المستهدفة (غير TEA). يتم نقل الأموال إلى مركز إقليمي في حساب الضمان. المركز الإقليمي يجب أن يحصل  على موافقة مسبقة من قبل دائرة الجمارك والهجرة والجنسية الأمريكية . في هذه الحالة ينبغي النظر في أي من هذه الاستثمارات التي تعد  “في خطر” طوال فترة الاستثمار. وفقا لمتطلبات المصلحة، نتيجة لصناديقها الاستثمارية،   المركز الإقليمي يتحمل المسؤولية الكاملة عن خلق فرص عمل جديدة، على الأ قل عشرة فرص عمل دائمة كعائد مباشر  لاستثماراتهم ومن ثم تقديم تقرير عن ذلك.  على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية اكتسب برنامج EB-5 شعبية كبيرة، ويرجع ذلك جزئيا إلى التطبيق العملي لها وجاذبيتها للمستثمرين. هذه العملية تسمح للمستثمرين للحصول على البطاقة الخضراء في فترة قصيرة نسبيا من الزمن. المستثمرين EB-5 المستثمرين لا يضطرون إلى العيش بالقرب من الأماكن التي يستثمرون فيها  أموالهم. المشاركة في فيزا برنامج EB-5 يوفر قدرا كبيرا من المرونة، والذي هو أيضا  عنصر جاذب للمستثمرين.

نرجو توضيح الفرق مابين نموذج الأسهم و نموذج الائتمان؟

نموذج الأسهم

يوفر العدالة نموذجا للحق الملكية في الأعمال التجارية، أو العقارات. عند إطلاق مشروع جديد، شراكة ذات مسؤولية محدودة، المشاركين والتي هي مركز EB-5 الإقليمي المستثمرين و. وتستخدم الأموال المستثمرة لاقتناء وبناء العقار أو للاستثمار في بدء التشغيل.

ضمن نموذج من المستثمرين في الأسهم بمثابة شركاء محدودين ، الذين لديهم حصة في ملكية هذا المشروع والمستثمرين الغير مشاركون بفاعلية .

نموذج الائتمان

نموذج الائتمان يعني وجود صناديق الاستثمار، والتي يتم توفيرها للمقترض في شكل قرض بهدف إطلاق مركز إقليمي EB5 المشروع.

ووفقا لهذا الاهتمام  يتم سداد القرض وفقا للشروط التي ينص عليها مشروع خطة العمل.

 

من المستفيد من خدمات المركز الإقليمي EB-5 بغرض الهجرة إلى الولايات المتحدة؟

برنامج EB-5 هو الأكثر مناسبة لأولئك المستثمرين الذين لا يريدون المشاركة بنشاط في إدارة الأعمال في الولايات المتحدة والذين يرغبون في الاستمرار في القيام بأعمال تجارية في وطنهم.

EB-5 البرنامج هو أيضا الأكثر  شعبية  بين  الآباء والأمهات الذين يريدون  خلق لأبنائهم   فرص للهجرة. في كثير من الحالات، الآباء يهدون لأبناهم المال للانتقال إلى الولايات المتحدة، للتعليم ،العمل والحصول على تصريح إقامة.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن برنامج EB-5 هو خيارا جذابا لهؤلاء المستثمرين الذين يرسلون  اولادهم  و زوجاتهم  إلى  الولايات المتحدة  ، حيث لايزال  المعيل في الوطن الأم ، و من ثم يقوم   بزيارات دورية الولايات المتحدة كسائح . يسمح لهؤلاء المستثمرين تجنب العبء الضريبي في الولايات المتحدة.

هل يمكنك شرح الوسيلة للحصول على الجنسية الأمريكية بواسطة برنامج EB-5 ، و كيف يعمل؟

من أجل الحصول على الجنسية لبرنامج EB-5، والمستثمرين بحاجة أولا للحصول على البطاقة الخضراء الأصلية عن طريق تقديم الالتماس I-526 عن طريق محاميه. بعد عامين من أن المستثمر يمكنه التقدم بطلب للحصول على البطاقة الخضراء الدائمة تقديم التماس I-829 عن طريق محاميه أيضاً .

بعد حصوله على البطاقة الخضراء الدائمة لمدة خمس سنوات، المستثمر لديه الحق في التقدم بطلب للحصول على جواز سفر والجنسية شريطة أن يستوفي  الشروط التي وضعتها الولايات المتحدة المواطنة وخدمات الهجرة.

واحدة من متطلبات لتسجيل طلب الحصول على جواز سفر ومرور “اختبار وجود فعلي.” وفقا لمتطلبات هذا الاختبار، يجب أن يكون مقدم الطلب  متواجد في الولايات المتحدة مدة  لا تقل عن 2.5 سنة من السنوات ال 5 الماضية. المستثمر  ينبغي أن يقدم   الأدلة  أنه نتيجة لاستثماره  تم  توفير عشرة وظائف من العمالة الكاملة .

في هذه الحالة، إذا كان المستثمر أو أفراد عائلته في الولايات المتحدة أقل من 2.5 سنوات، فإنها قد تضطر إلى مزيد من الانتظار لبعض الوقت بعد انتهاء فترة 5 سنوات من أجل جمع الحد الأدنى المطلوب من عدد أيام الإقامة في الولايات المتحدة. في هذه المرحلة، يمكن للمستثمر وأفراد أسرته التقدم بطلب للحصول على

هل من الممكن للشخص الذي لديه أصول الحساب (المستخدمة) في وطنه، أن لا يقدم على الإقامة و يستطيع أفراد عائلته طلب الحصول على الإقامة ؟

نعم. هذا هو السيناريو الشائع جدا. كما أنه يمثل أداة فعالة التخطيط الضريبي. في هذه الحالة، لا يتم تضمين الشخص الذي يستثمر أصوله في الالتماس. إذا يقيم فيه الشخص في أراضي البلد لا يقل عن ستة أشهر في السنة، فإنه لا يدفع الضرائب لخزينة الولايات المتحدة.

في حال أنه في المستقبل سوف يتغير الوضع والمستثمر قرر  الانضمام إلى عائلته والحصول على تصريح الإقامة، وقال انه سوف تكون قادرة بسهولة على تقديم التماس. في هذه العملية، يحق للمستثمر الحصول على تصريح إقامة لمدة 6-8 أشهر.

هل يمكن للمستثمر أن يستمر في القيام بأعمال تجارية في بلده الأم بعد الحصول على تصريح الإقامة؟

نعم. بعد الحصول على الإقامة تسمح للمستثمر الحق في القيام بأعمال تجارية في وطنهم، ولهم ألحق في إمتلاك  أصول و  عائد مالي  في بلدان أخرى. التخطيط الضريبي في مثل هذه الحالة، يصبح عامل مهم جدا. قبل اتخاذ مثل هذا القرار، يجب أن يتشاور مع محاسب الضرائب وتنظيم هذه العمليات بمثل هذه الطريقة لتقليل الالتزامات الضريبية.

ما هي جوانب في المشروع MD-ALPHA الأكثر جذبا للمستثمرين؟

إدارة وموظفي مراكز البيانات كابيتال “MD-ALPHA لديهم معرفة وخبرة واسعة في المجال التقني وفي مجال الأعمال. حققت الشركة خطة عمل مفصلة، والذي تتوافق تماما مع متطلبات EB-5. كما سبق حصلت على الأموال غير المنقولة اللازمة ضمن المشروع. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد تلقى المشروع دعما قويا من السلطات المحلية، بما في ذلك سلطات المدينة والمحافظة والدولة. يقع المشروع في منطقة . وبالتالي، فإن الاستثمار المطلوب هو فقط 500000 $.

.وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وخلال تنفيذ المشروع ،من المقرر أن يتجاوز 20٪ من العدد المطلوب من الوظائف الجديدة.

تعرف على المزيد حول متطلبات خدمات المواطنة والهجرة إلى EB-5 المستثمرين بشأن خلق فرص العمل

هل يجب الإستثمار في EB-5 الآن؟

في الوقت الحالي مشروع مركز البيانات MD-ALPHA جاهزا بالفعل لاستقبال الاستثمارات. في الوقت نفسه، نحن نوصي بشدة المستثمرين على التصرف بسرعة ويرجع ذلك إلى حقيقة أن هذه الفرص الاستثمارية محدودة. أعلنت حكومة الولايات المتحدة بالفعل عن نيتها لمراجعة وإجراء تغييرات على شروط برنامج EB-5. وتشمل هذه التغييرات البنود مثل زيادة في حجم الاستثمارات والتغيرات في تعريف مجالات العمل المستهدفة (TEA). حاليا، وحجم الاستثمارات فيها هو 500،000 $.

هل مستثمر EB-5 له الحق في تملك العقارات في الولايات المتحدة؟

المستثمر الحاصل على   البطاقة الخضراء لديه الحق في إمتلاك  العقارات في الولايات المتحدة. واحدة من فوائد البطاقة الخضراء من حيث شراء العقارات في الولايات المتحدة هو أن وجود البطاقة الخضراء قد تسمح لك للحصول على التمويل أو الائتمان بشروط أفضل.

هل مستثمر EB-5 له الحق في القيام بالأعمال التجارية في الولايات المتحدة؟

نعم. توفر البطاقة الخضراء يعطي المستثمر بجميع الحقوق والامتيازات التي يتمتع بها مواطني الولايات المتحدة، وله ألحق في أن يعمل في أي مكان يشاء .

كم يحتاج المستثمر للاستثمار في هذا المشروع؟

مبلغ الاستثمار هو 1000000 $.  أما إذا كان موجودا في مشروع المركز الإقليمي في مجالات العمل المستهدفة (TEA). يصبح  المبلغ هو 500،000 $.

ماذا يحدث إذا تم رفض طلب المستثمر؟

في حال تم رفض الطلب المستثمر، يعود للمستثمر  المبلغ  المستثمر في فترة معقولة من الزمن .

تعلم المزيد عن عملية الحصول على EB-5 فيزا في موقع  المواطنة الأمريكية وخدمات الهجرة.

 

ما الأراضي المشمولة للمركز الإقليمي WARC

يقع هذا المركز الإقليمي في مقاطعة واشنطن، ولاية ماريلاند. ويضم المركز الإقليمي أيضا في المقاطعات المحيطة بها من ميريلاند وواشنطن العاصمة

ما هي التغييرات التي يمكن إجراؤها في شروط برنامج EB-5؟

في عام 2015، اقترح لزيادة حجم الاستثمارات، فضلا عن تعديل طريقة احتساب عدد الوظائف وتحديد مناطق  TEA –

كذلك الحد الأدنى للاستثمار، التي تبلغ حاليا 000 500 $ ويمكن زيادة تصل إلى 000 750 $ أو أكثر، وحجم الاستثمار، والذي هو 1000000 $، يمكن أن يرتفع إلى 1.2 مليون $ أو أكثر.

هل يتحمل المستثمر أي مصاريف إضافية ؟

نعم. بالإضافة إلى المبلغ الأصلي للاستثمار 1000000 $ أو 500،000 $، يدفع المستثمر تكاليف الإدارية وأتعاب المحاماة والتكاليف المرتبطة بايداع وثائق المواطنة وخدمات الهجرة. الرسوم الإضافية التي تتعلق برنامج الاستثمار EB-5 قد تختلف طبقاً للمشروع

هل يتم تحديد جميع التكاليف مقدما؟ ما إذا كان المستثمر سيتحمل أي نفقات إضافية إذا كانت قضيته أكثر تعقيدا؟

يتم تحديد جميع المدفوعات مقدما. ومع ذلك، فإن المبلغ  المرتبط  بالتقديم الأولي من الوثائق في المستقبل قد يتغير. في الوقت الراهن،  تكلفة التقدم بطلب للحصول على البطاقة الخضراء المشروطة هي 1500 $ لكل طالب وأعضاء أسرته المرافقين له.

ماذا يحدث للأمول التي يتم استثمارها في الولايات المتحدة؟

يتم استثمار الأموال في المشاريع  التي  تعتبر “في خطر”. وهذا يعني أن الأموال يجب أن تستثمر في المشروع المحدد وتستخدم لتغطية النفقات الضرورية.

في حال أن يتم استثمار الأموال وفقا لمتطلبات خطة العمل، يتم استخدام خطة عمل من قبل قسم  المواطنة والهجرة في  الولايات المتحدة لتقييم والتأكد من أن الأموال تم استثمار بشكل صحيح.

عائد الاستثمار للمستثمر وفقا للجدول المبين في خطة عمل المشروع.

ما هي الوثائق التي يجب أن يوفرها المستثمر؟

يجب على كل مستثمر أن توفر المعلومات الديموغرافية الأساسية عن أنفسهم وأفراد عائلته المرافقين له. أيضا، يجب عليه  تقديم جواز سفر وشهادة ميلاد ووثائق تثبت طريقة ومصدر الأموال التي يتم استخدامها في الاستثمار.

العناصر USCIS التي تبدو المصلحة لفي توافر EB-5 وثائق.

هل يجب على المستثمر أن يكشف عن كل ممتلكاته؟

لا. المستثمر يجب أن يؤكد فقط وجود الأصول في المبلغ الإجمالي للاستثمار والتكاليف المرتبطة بها.

هل الملغ المخصص للإستثمار يخضع للضريبة في الولايات المتحدة ؟

لا. الأموال القادمة  للولايات المتحدة من قبل المستثمر  قبل أن يصبح  المستثمر مقيماً  فيها لا تخضع للضريبة .

كما نحثك على التشاور مع محامي الضرائب أو محاسب الضرائب لأغراض التخطيط الضريبي. وهناك عدد من الطرق المشروعة لتقليل الالتزامات الضريبية، والتي يمكن استخدامها من قبل المستثمر لمنحه الإقامة في الولايات المتحدة.

هل ينبغي على المستثمرين الإقامة في الولايات المتحدة بعد الحصول على البطاقة الخضراء؟

نعم، يجب على المستثمر الحفاظ على مكانه مقيماً في الولايات المتحدة. أحد الشروط للحصول على تصريح الإقامة وجواز السفر هو الإقامة  في الولايات المتحدة. وفقا لمتطلبات المواطنة والهجرة، من مجموع الخمس سنين تصريح بالإقامة عليه أن يكون مقيماً فعلياً في الولايات المتحدة مدة لا تنقص عن عامين و نصف العام

هل للمستثمر الحق في حرية التنقل والخروج و الدخول للولايات المتحدة، والعكس بالعكس؟

نعم. واحدة من فوائد البطاقة الخضراء هو أنه يعطي صاحبه الحق في التحرك بحرية. إذا كان المستثمر يخطط لفترة طويلة أن يكون خارج الولايات المتحدة، وانه يمكن التقدم للحصول على ما يسمى المسبق إطلاق السراح المشروط.

يجب من خلال عرض إطلاق السراح المشروط المستثمر إبلاغ الحكومة عن حقيقة أنه كان لفترة طويلة سيكون خارج الولايات المتحدة، وأنه يعتزم العودة والحفاظ على مكانة مقيم. خلال الفترة الانتقالية، تستخدم الحكومة نهجا متحررا إلى حد ما لهذه القضية.

كم من الوقت يلزم للمستثمر للحصول على البطاقة الخضراء؟

هذه عملية من خطوتين. بعد إعداد الوثائق وعريضة يجب على المستثمر الحصول على الموافقة المبدئية. التاريخ التقريبي للاستلام هذه الموافقة هو 12 إلى 15 شهرا.

في حال تم الحصول على الموافقة، وإذا كان المستثمر و / أو عائلته يقيمون في أراضي الولايات المتحدة، يمكن للمستثمر التقدم بطلب للحصول تغيير في الوضع. بعد ذلك، يتم إرسال المستندات إلى سفارة الولايات المتحدة في البلد الأم للمستثمر. هذه العملية تستغرق 2-3 أشهر.

بعد ذلك، يتلقى المستثمر على تأشيرة دخول لمرة واحدة EB-5، والتي ينبغي أن تستخدم للدخول إلى الولايات المتحدة لمدة 180 يوما. في غضون 60 يوما بعد دخول الولايات المتحدة يتلقي   المستثمر  وعائلته عن طريق البريد على البطاقة الخضراء المشروطة. هذه البطاقة الخضراء المشروطة هي صالحة لمدة سنتين. قبل انقضاء الفترة نفسها من العام 2، يجب على المستثمر التقدم بطلب أخر  للحصول على بطاقة خضراء دائمة، وهي صالحة لمدة 10 عاما.

من أجل الحصول على البطاقة الخضراء الدائمة، يجب على المستثمر أن يظهر  الأدلة  على أنه  خلال هذين  العامين  من استثماراته  كانت في خطر، وان هذه الإستثمارات  ساعدت على إنشاء 10 وظائف  على الأقل. في حالة استيفاء جميع الشروط تعطي الحكومة للمستثمر  البطاقة الخضراء الدائمة لمدة 10 عاما.

عند استلام المستثمر البطاقة الخضراء المشروطة  يمكن له التقدم بطلب للحصول على جواز سفر والجنسية.

من هو المسؤول عن توفير الأدلة حول خلق فرص عمل جديدة؟ هل هي على المستثمرين، ومركز إقليمي أو المشروع؟

في نهاية المطاف، مسؤولية توفير مثل هذا الاثبات على عاتق المستثمر. إذا كان المستثمر غير قادر على تقديم أدلة على خلق فرص العمل، فإنه سيتم رفض بطاقة خضراء دائمة. جمع المعلومات اللازمة وتقديم وثائق لدعم حقيقة أن الأموال تم استثمار ومعرضون لخطر وانها كانت تستخدم لخلق فرص عمل جديدة، وذلك يعتمد على مركز إقليمي والمشروع. يوفر المركز الإقليمي أدلة على أن الوظائف  تم إنشاؤها بالفعل، وان متطلبات المواطنة والهجرة الأميركية قد أجريت.

تعلم المزيد عن عملية خلق فرص عمل من خلال المركز الإقليمي EB-5.

ما هو دور المستثمر في هذا المشروع؟

عندما يصبح  المستثمر جزء من مشروع المركز الإقليمي للإستثمار  EB-5، فهو يعتبر دوره سلبي. كل ثلاثة أشهر أو كل ستة أشهر، يتلقى المستثمر تقريرا عن تنفيذ المشروع. ولأن كل مركز إقليمي له طبيعة و شروط مختلفة ، المعلومات عن المشاريع ستختلف  على حسب الخطة الموضوعة للمشروع

هل هناك ضمان أن المستثمرون سوف يحصلون على أموالهم مرة أخرى ؟

وفقا لقواعد برنامج EB-5،ليس هناك ضمان واضح  لإعادة الأموال . وبموجب شروط المواطنة وخدمات الهجرة، كل الأموال المستثمرة  تعتبر “في خطر”.

كلمة في خطر هي  بمثابة تذكرة  أن المستثمر يجب أن يأخذ عناية خاصة في اختيار المشاريع والمركز إلإقليمي كذلك الهيكل الإداري والمطورين المشاركين في المشروع.

كيف يتم اختيار المشروعات التي تشارك في برنامج EB-5؟

هناك طريقتان. في الحالة الأولى،   عندما يتلقى  قسم المواطنة و الهجرة  طلب أول من قبل المستثمر.  و من هنا يبدأوا بتقييم المشروع و التأكد  من أنها تتقابل مع شروط EB-5.

الطريقة الثانية تشمل ما يسمى موافقة مبدئية. في هذه الحالة، حتى قبل أن يبدأ المستثمرين إستثمار أموالهم، يرسل المطور لقسم المواطنة والهجرة في  الولايات المتحدة من جميع وثائق المشروع للتقييم. عادة، هذه العملية تستغرق بين 6-9 أشهر.

بعد استلام الوثائق من قبل قسم  المواطنة الأمريكية والهجرة، تعطي بدورها  قرارا بشأن ما إذا كان المشروع يلبي متطلبات برنامج EB-5. إذا وافقت، عندما  يتلقى   المركز  الإقليمي  موافقة قسم  المواطنة و الهجرة و هذا  لا بد  أن يعطي المستثمر درجة عالية من الأمان إنه ليس هناك عقبات في المستقبل.

كيف تكون دقة دراسة المشاريع من قبل قسم المواطنة والهجرة بالولايات المتحدة ؟

ما يكفي من التفاصيل. قسم  المواطنة الأمريكية والهجرة يحلل بدقة التوقعات والتقديرات المالية لخلق فرص العمل. الاستفادة من مثل هذا “الاختيار” هو أنه عندما يقدم المستثمر التماسه، تكون عملية المراجعة والموافقة أسرع، لأن خدمات الجنسية والهجرة في  الولايات المتحدة  قد وافقت بالفعل على المشروع نفسه.

هل يتم منح فائدة على الأموال المستثمرة؟

قد تختلف أسعار الفائدة ومدفوعات الفائدة اعتمادا على المشروع. لمعرفة ظروف الاستثمار، يجب على المستثمر دراسة بالتفصيل خطة عمل كل مشروع على حدة.

إلى متى تظل أموال المستثمرين مرتبطة بالمشروع ؟

ان ذلك يعتمد على مشروع معين. في كثير من الأحيان، يتم استثمار الأموال لمدة لا تقل عن 5 سنوات. أحيانا لفترة أطول.  مشروعات البنية لديها  تمويلات  مختلفة. وكقاعدة عامة، ترد هذه المعلومات في مشروع خطة العمل. للمستثمر الحق في الحصول على أموالهم بعد ذلك   بعد أن  يتم إصدار بطاقة الخضراء الدائمة له.

CAll Us: +1-202-729-8145

What is a regional center?

A regional center is an entity that has been approved by and has received licensure from the USCIS to accept funds from EB-5 investors to sponsor qualified projects inside of the EB-5 program.

Regional centers do not directly receive funds from investors, but rather serve as a platform to host projects. Funds are placed in an escrow account that has been set up specifically for that project.

Find the USCIS EB-5 Regional Center definition here.

Overview of the EB-5 investment process

The EB-5 investment process requires that $500,000 Targeted Employment Area (TEA) or $1,000,000 (non-TEA) investment monies are invested into a Regional Center (Escrow Account). United States Customs and Immigration Services (USCIS) must have approved the regional center and all investments must be considered to be “at risk” for the duration of the investment.

USCIS requires that regional center investors must create at least 10 full time jobs as a direct result of their investment. Job creation is one area where involvement with a Regional Center is beneficial to the Investor as they are responsible for creating and reporting job creation for the investor. The Regional Center will track and create both direct and indirect jobs for you.

The EB-5 program has grown in popularity over the past several years, in part because of its functionality and strong appeal to investors. This process allows investors to receive their green card rather quickly.

EB-5 investors are passive investors, and are not required to live near their investment. EB-5 involvement offers flexibility that is appealing to many types of investors under this type of Visa program.

Read about more of the benefits of EB-5 Capital from a study conducted by NYU.

Please explain the EB-5 “loan model” versus the “equity model”.

Equity Model

The equity model pertains to projects that provide ownership in a business or a property.   When a new project is created, EB-5 investors form a limited partnership with the regional center. The invested funds are used to obtain and develop property or to invest in a start-up business.

In the Equity Model, Investors are limited partners who have ownership shares in the project as a passive investor.

Loan Model

The Loan Model involves invested funds that are loaned to a borrower for starting an EB5 regional center project.  Investors and a regional center create a limited partnership that loans money to a borrower.

Interest is accrued on this loan and is paid back according to the terms defined in that projects business plan.

Who should use the EB-5 Regional Center to immigrate to the United States?

EB-5 is most suitable to investors who do not want to actively manage a business in the US and who may wish to continue to operate a business that remains in their home country.

EB-5 is popular with parents who would like for their children to immigrate. Many times parents will gift money to their children to allow them to come to the US, go to school, work, and establish residency here.

In addition the EB-5 program is a valuable option for investors who want to send their spouse and children to the US, while allowing the “breadwinner” of the family to stay in their home country – traveling back and forth to the US as a tourist. By not establishing residency, they are able to avoid tax implications inside of the US

Can you explain the path to citizenship through the EB-5 process, and how does it work?

To receive citizenship through the EB-5 process, the investor must first receive their initial green card by filing an I-526 petition through their attorney, then after two years they can file for a permanent green card by filing an I-829 petition through their attorney.

When the investor has had their permanent green card for 5 years, they are then usually eligible to file for their passport and citizenship as long as conditions set forth by the USCIS have been met.

One requirement for applying for a passport is a “Physical Presence Test”. A Physical Presence test requires that the person applying has, during the previous 5 years been physically present in the US for at least 2.5 years combined as well as having proof that at least 10 FT jobs have been created as a direct result of their investment.

If the investor or their family members were in the US for a little less than 2.5 years they may have to wait a little longer after the 5 year period in order to accumulate the required minimum number of days in the US. At that point the investor and their family are ready to apply for citizenship

Is it possible for the person whose assets are registered (used) to not establish residency but the other family members can?

Yes. This is a very common scenario. It is also an effective tax planning technique. The person, whose assets are invested, does not file as part of the petition and if they stay here less than 6 months per year they are not subject to US taxes.

If their situation changes, and the investor is ready to join their family and receive residency, it is a simple process for them to file a petition. During this process they can gain residency in approximately 6-8 months.

Once the investor gains residency can they continue to do business in their home country?

Yes. Once residency is established they can have a business in their home country and also continue to have assets and income overseas. Tax planning then becomes a very important consideration. It will become important to speak with a qualified tax accountant prior to doing that, and to structure things in a way that will minimize tax obligations.

What are some of the aspects of the MD-ALPHA project that are appealing to investors?

The principals and staff at Capital Data Centers’ MD-ALPHA facility have strong technical and business backgrounds. There is a comprehensive business plan that is fully compliant with EB-5 requirements. The property has already been purchased, and there is strong support from local authorities – the city, county and state. It is located in a TEA zone, and thus the investment required is only $500,000.

In addition, job creation is very robust and this project is targeted to create 20% more jobs than is required.

Find out more about the USCIS EB-5 job creation requirements for investors.

Should an EB-5 investment be made now?

MD-ALPHA’s Data Center project is ready to start accepting investors at this point; we strongly encourage investors to not delay, as there are limited investor opportunities available. The US Government has also indicated that changes to the EB-5 program will be up for review; these changes include items like increasing the investment fee amounts and reevaluation of the definition of a Targeted Employment Area (TEA) that currently have the $500,000 investment amount.

We strongly believe it is to an investors benefit to take advantage of the current conditions within the program, because it is safe to say, that in the future it will be less advantageous to investors.

Is the EB-5 investor allowed to own property in the US?

An investor possessing a green card can purchase property in the US. One benefit of having a green card regarding the purchase of property in the US is that it can allow for better financing or loan rates.

Can an EB-5 investor conduct business in the US?

Yes. Once an investor has a green card it grants them all of the rights and privileges that an American citizen has, they can work wherever they choose.

What is the current investment amount that an investor must bring into the project?

The investment amounts are $1 million and are $500,000 if the Regional Center’s project is in a Targeted Employee Area (TEA).

What if the investor’s application is rejected?

If the investor’s application is rejected, the invested amount will be returned within a reasonable amount of time.
Find out more about the EB-5 Visa application process from the USCIS.

What territory does the Washington American Regional Center cover?

This regional center is based in Washington County, Maryland and will also cover the surrounding counties in both Maryland and Washington D.C.

What are some proposed changes to the EB-5 program that may be on the horizon?

In 2015 there were proposed changes to increase the investment amounts, changes to how job calculations are performed, and how TEA areas are defined.
What is expected is that the minimum investment amount of $500,000 would increase to at least $750,000, and the $1 million investment would increase to at least $1.2 million.

Are there additional expenses expected from the investor?

Yes. In addition to the principal investment amount of $1 million or $500,000 there will be administrative fees, attorney fees, and filing fees for the USCIS and United States. The additional costs associated with EB-5 investments will vary by project.

Are all of these fees predetermined? Are there additional fees if the case is more complex?

Fees are all predetermined, although filing fees might change in the future. At this point, the initial filing for the conditional green card is $1,500 for the petitioner and all family members that may be accompanying them.

What happens to the investment funds that are brought into the US?

Funds going into a project must be considered “at risk”. At risk funds mean that the funds must be injected into the selected project and used for qualifying expenses.

As long as funds are invested pursuant to the requirements of the business plan, that business plan is then used by USCIS to review and ensure that the funds are invested accordingly.

The investor is repaid according to the timeline detailed in their projects Business Plans.

What type of documents do investors need to provide?

All investors need to provide basic demographic info about themselves and family members accompanying them. A passport, birth certificate, and documents showing proof of the path and source of funds that are being used to invest will be needed.

Items that the USCIS looks for in availability of EB-5 documents.

Does the investor need to show all of their assets?

No. All that the investor really needs to show are the assets totaling the amount of the investment and the fees.

Is the investment amount taxed in the US?

No. Funds that are brought into the US before a person becomes a resident are not taxable.

Talking to a tax attorney or tax accountant for tax planning purposes is recommended. There are a number of completely legitimate ways to minimize tax obligations prior to arriving in the US as a resident.

Is the investor required to live in the US after receiving their green card?

Yes, they are expected to maintain residency in the US. A requirement for applying and receiving residency and a passport is maintaining a physical presence in the US. The USCIS mandates that out of the 5 years a person has been in the US with a green card that they must have been in the US for at least 2.5 years of that time in order to receive a passport and citizenship.

Is the investor allowed to travel freely back and forth out of the US?

Yes. That is the advantage of the green card – travel is allowed. If the investor does know in advance they will be spending a lot of time out of the US, they can file for what is called Advance Parole.

Advanced Parole is a notification to the government that they will be gone for an extended period of time, and that they are planning to return to the US and maintain residency. They are fairly liberal about the transition period.

How long does it take for the investor to get their green card?

This is a two-phase process. Once the documentation is ready and the petition is filed, the waiting time for initial approval is approximately 12 to 15 months.

Once approved – and if the investor and/or their family are living in the US – an adjustment of status can be applied for. The documents will then be sent to the US Embassy in the investor’s home country, this process will take an additional 2 to 3 months.

A one time EB-5 Visa will then be issued, this visa must be used within 180 days to enter the US. Once entry is made into the US using this Visa, investors and their eligible family members will then receive a conditional green card within 60 days through the mail. This conditional green card is good for two years. Before that 2-year period expires they must file another petition to receive a permanent green card, which will last for 10 years.

At that phase, in order to receive a permanent green card, proof must be shown that their investment money has remained “at risk” during these 2 years, and that they have created at least 10 jobs. As long as conditions are met, the government will issue a permanent green card, which is valid for 10 years.

If an investor wishes they can file for a passport and citizenship after receiving their conditional green card.

Is the burden of proof of job creation on the investor, the regional center, or the project?

Ultimately, the burden of proof is on the investor. If proof of job creation cannot be shown then the investor will be denied a permanent green card. The investor is dependent on the project and regional center to gather the proper information and to provide documentation showing funds were invested and at risk, what they were used for and that jobs were created. The regional center will provide proof that these jobs were in fact created and that USCIS conditions were met.

Learn more about EB-5 Regional Center job creation.

What is the investor’s role in the project?

When investors become part of an EB-5 regional center project, their role is considered to be a passive one. A quarterly or semi-annual report will be provided to them – because every regional center’s projects and terms are different – the delivery of project information will occur according to that projects business plan.

Is there a guarantee that the investor will get their money back?

Under the rules of the EB-5 program, there cannot be an explicit guarantee for a return of funds. All of the funds must be considered “at risk” according to USCIS stipulations for the duration of the investment.

This “at risk” consideration is a reminder to be very careful when selecting a regional center project. Confidence should be held in the management team and developers involved in the selected project.

How does a project qualify for the EB-5 process?

There are two ways. One is where the USCIS receives the project upon the first petition by an investor. At that point they evaluate the project, and make sure it adheres and complies with the requirements of EB-5.

The other way is what is called an exemplar process. In that process, prior to the investors making an investment, the developer sends in all the project paperwork to USCIS for review. That can take generally 6-9 months.

Upon receipt of the paperwork, the USCIS will decide if the submitted project qualifies as an EB-5 project. Once the regional center has exemplar approval from the USCIS, this should give an investor a very high degree of security that there will not be problems regarding the petition moving forward

How detailed is the vetting for the exemplar process through the USCIS?

Quite detailed. The USCIS will thoroughly access financial projections and job creation calculations. The value of “pre-clearance” is that when investors send in their petitions, that these types of petitions will be approved faster since the USCIS has already approved the project.

Is there interest accrued on invested funds?

Interest rates and payments vary by project. Investors must look at the details of each individual projects business plan in order to know the terms of that investment.

How long is the investor’s money tied up in the project?

It varies by project; funds are many times committed for at least 5 years, sometimes longer. Again, every project is structured differently these details can be found in the projects business plan. It is after the investor receives their permanent green card that they are allowed to receive their funds back.